Coeur D’Alene, Idaho

I recently took a little weekend getaway up to the lovely state of Idaho! One of my good friends from childhood was getting married up in Coeur D’Alene, so we all piled into the plane and flew up to celebrate the union of the beautiful couple.

flying

I flew into Spokane Washington and immediately fell in love. It is old news that I prefer  sky scraping trees to  sky scraping buildings, but since moving to a reasonably large city, my escapes to the forest haven’t been as regular as they used to be. So it was a real treat to fly into such a beautiful place and take a short drive across Washington and into Idaho.

the road leaving the airport

“wow…where is all the stuff?” -Emily Voigtlander on rural america

washingtonthe view from the backseat of the car

washingtongeorge washington

We spotted this pretty hilarious difference between California and Washinton road signs…. the ones in Washington have George’s head on them! haha!! I always like to find little differences between the places I travel to, it’s fun and it’s a nice way to learn more about the places I go. Most of the time it is just noticing that there are slightly different fast food chains everywhere, nowhere near as exciting as this gem!

So, after a lovely 45 minute drive, we arrived in Coeur D’Alene!

This is the view from my hotel window…

hotel window

It was beyond beautiful…and SO green. A color that is rarely seen during the summer in California.

After I settled in, my sister, her boyfriend, my mom, and I all went for a little walk around the area before we went to have dinner.

My sister was amazed at how big the “wish balls” were. Although, when we tried to make a wish, we only got about three of the things off the stem. I guess we are used to the nearly dead dandelions of the California that fly off the stem with the lightest of breezes.

Dandylion

After our little walk around the area, we went over to eat dinner at Bardenay

dinner

The view from our outdoor table was beautiful and seemed to only get more unbelievable as the sun set.

The food was great (although difficult to find something is was vegetarian, but I managed) and the drinks were phenomenal! I had a delicious ginger and rum drink! They distill their own spirits there, so you know it’s good!

dinner

After dinner I walked down to the edge of the water and watched the sunset from the docks.

sunset

breathtaking!

I was even able to sneak this super hipster-y shot of the fam walking around. sunset

And as a special treat… I bought myself some ice cream to top off the night!

ice cream

ice cream

It didn’t take long for me to fall in love with Coeur D’Alene! All of these beautiful sights and eats in less than one day… it can only get better from here!

Stay tuned for Days 2 and 3 of my Idaho adventure!

Leave a Reply

